Littleborough Cricket Club was founded in 1839.
One of the country’s finest club grounds, cricket was first played at Hare Hill in 1872, much work having been carried out to lay out and level the land using spoil from the gasworks which was owned by the then-club President Henry Newall.
Over the following years a full enclosure was developed with pathways laid and viewing areas created around the ground with searing donated by club members and local tradesmen.
The ground was eventually bought at auction for £1900 in 1944, following a sustained campaign of fundraising over many years.
The image shows a section of the vast crowd enjoying the Littleborough v Rochdale ‘flag’ match in 1948, the total attendance that day was estimated at around 3500.
The pavilion pictured was built in 1895 to replace the original structure which had stood where the changing rooms and scoreboard are now situated on the far side of the ground.
A wooden tea room was erected on that site after the First World War as a memorial to the players and members who lost their lives.
The 1895 pavilion was destroyed by fire in 1967 and was replaced with the current clubhouse.
The Willow Room function suite was built in 1972 and and the clubhouse was extended in 1979.
The changing rooms and scoreboard were built in 1984 after the memorial tea room burnt down.
Development has progressed at Hare Hill continually in the years since and Littleborough Cricket Club is proud to boast the current facilities and to play at a ground with such a rich history amidst beautiful surroundings.
A measure of the club’s rich history may be gained from a look at the Professionals’ boards, donated by the LCC Patrons Club, in the Jonathan Whitworth Lounge.
These boards feature many world-famous players who have played alongside talented amateurs on our renowned Hare Hill turf.